Call it a hard reset, factory reset, or phone formatting — all of them are scary terms. And they need to be. Why? Why? Because the consequences are serious. What are the consequences? Find out the answer in this post where How To KR is going to tell you what happens when you reset your Android or iPhone factory. Factory reset will delete everything on your phone's internal storage. Now, there can be a lot of stuff like apps, directories, settings, contact details, messages, etc. What's going to happen to them?
We 're going to clear up your uncertainty. Let's see what happens when the handset is hard reset.
What Happens to the Operating System of the Device
You need to be wondering what's going to happen to your operating system when you format your phone. Will you have to mount it again? The response to that is no. Device formatting does not delete the existing system from your computer. Now, we 're talking about the software version that was running on your phone before you reset it.
For eg, if your Android phone came with Android 9.0 Pie and was later updated to Android 10, formatting would restore Android 10 and not Android Pie. The same is true for iOS. If you have installed the latest version, the phone will hold a secure storage area on that part and use it as a backup to restore things to the factory state.
What Happens to the Apps when you Format / Hard Reset You Device
To keep things clear, most pre-installed apps stay and roll back to the factory version of the operating system. However, all apps that you manually install from the Google Play Store (Android) or the App Store (iPhone) will be removed when you format / reset your phone. You 're going to have to reinstall them.
You will also lose the data associated with these apps unless they provide a backup feature and you use it. For example, if you have a Candy Crush game installed on your phone, the phone formatting would delete it. But if you sign in to a game account, you'll be on the same level when you launch it again.
If you've purchased an app, you don't need to pay for it again after you've updated your device. Download it using the same Google Account (Android) or Apple ID (iPhone) that was used to download it first.
On the contrary, apps that have been pre-installed on your phone will appear again automatically when you format your phone. However, the data for these devices would also be removed, so it would be wise if you took backup.
What Happens to Call Logs, Messages and Contacts
Some of the key issues when considering updating or resetting your phone are Contacts, Texts, and Call logs. If you format your phone, your call history and messages will be lost unless you have taken backup. You can use the native backup feature available on Android and iPhone, or download third-party backup apps.
If it comes to messages, they will also be removed. But if you use Google or iCloud to synchronize your contacts, you can recover them when you add the same accounts to your phones after you format them.
What Happens to Data in Memory or SIM Card
The configuration of your phone does not affect your data stored in your memory or SIM card. Your images and other data on your SD card and SIM contacts are secure. You 're going to have to format them separately.
Similar to other stuff, your files, such as PDF, audio, etc., will also be removed after you reset your computer. You should either move it to the SD card, if your phone supports it, or use cloud storage services.However, we would suggest that you remove them from your phone before you format your phone
What Happens to the Phone Configuration or Settings
Since hard reset removes all, this ensures that all your customizations will also be restored to their default values. Your Wi-Fi passwords, paired Bluetooth devices, customization of your home screen, ringtone selection, and other settings will be removed. If you don't want to set up your computer again from scratch, you can back up your phone before you format it. When you do this, the customizations made to the settings will be reflected again when you restore the phone. Check out how to back up your phone below.
WHEN TO FACTORY RESET YOUR PHONE
Factory reset is like upgrading to a new phone, at least in software terms. You can just have your phone hard to reset when it's absolutely necessary. For example, if you're selling your phone, we highly recommend that you reset and format your phone along with your microSD card. If you're facing some issue on your computer, it should be your last resort to reset. Usually, most problems are resolved by following various troubleshooting tips, and a reset is not needed. Use so only if the problem lasts for a longer time. Once you decide to format your phone, make a backup before you take a tough step.
HOW TO FORMAT YOUR PHONE
Let’s check the steps to hard reset your Android and iPhone.
How to Factory Reset Android Phone
Step 1: Open Settings on your phone and go to System or General Management.
Step 2: Tap on Reset. Then, tap on Factory reset or Erase all data. Confirm on the next screen by Clicking on Reset Device and your Phone will Reboot Now. It will take some time to Reset.
How to Factory Reset iPhone
Step 1: Open Settings on your iPhone. Tap on General.
Step 2: Tap on Reset. Tap on Erase All Content and Settings.